Welcome to Through the Flaming Sword

October 20, 2010 § Leave a comment

Welcome to Through the Flaming Sword, an online conversation about the history and future of Quaker culture, hosted by Steven Davison, member of Yardley Meeting, Philadelphia Yearly Meeting. Thank you for joining me.

I have started this blog to share some of my ideas with interested Friends and to join the lively online conversation about Quaker life more directly. The brief introduction below also appears on the “About this blog” page, whose link is on the left.

I’ve been a Friend since the mid-1980s and I’ve always had a passion for the study of Quakerism—its history, its ‘theology’, its approach to the life of the spirit, both personal and corporate, its community dynamics and governance, and its distinctive language and practices.

A writer by both vocation and avocation, I’ve written a lot about Quakerism, the vast majority of which is unpublished, though some essays have appeared in Friends Journal and Quaker Life. I currently am deep into a book on Quakers and Capitalism, which is both an economic history of Friends and a history and commentary on Quaker contributions to capitalist culture. This is not about Quakers and money, but about Quakers and the history and structure of capitalist economy. The history part of the book is more or less complete up to the turn of the 20th century, and roughly sketched out to the present. I have done a number of presentations on this material and I’ve found that Friends are universally amazed at the significance of Quaker economic contributions, a history that is almost completely unknown to most Friends. I am a trained and seasoned public speaker and I welcome opportunities to share this incredible story more widely. Please contact me if you are interested.

I also am a serious student of the Bible and I invite you to visit my other blog, BibleMonster.com, which explores contemporary issues under the light of a radical Bible.

Again, thank you for joining me. I look forward to our conversation.

Steven Davison

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Welcome to Through the Flaming Sword at Through the Flaming Sword.

meta