Quakers & Capitalism – the 1650s

December 17, 2010 § 2 Comments

Over the next few weeks, I plan to roll out much of what I’ve written already on the history of Friends and capitalism on two parallel tracks. On the one hand, I’ll be loading documents into the wiki, QuakerCapitalism (see my introductory post here), where Friends who are interested can become members and help to build the resource. (If you want to become a member, send me an email.)

However, because many more Friends may be interested in reading this material without working on the wiki, I plan to publish the same sections as pdf files. These I will publish to the back end of my professional website (stevendavison.com), with links to the files appearing only here in Through the Flaming Sword.

So far, two files are available from this blog, but only one on the wiki. On the wiki, I’ve omitted the introduction to the book as originally conceived, because it needed its own introduction. The files are:

Quakers & Capitalism – Introduction

Quakers & Capitalism – The 1650s: The Lamb’s War and the Social Order

Note also that I’ve created a new page for Through the Flaming Sword that will feature an ongoing list of links to these files, organized in one place: Quakers & Capitalism—The Book. This page appears in the navigation column to the left.

Please feel free to share this material, but please also respect my copyright. One of these days, I will probably want to publish this writing in some way, depending on how the wiki experiment goes. If we end up collaboratively building a more or less complete resource on Quakers and Capitalism through the wiki, then we’ll have to decide how to publish collectively. If the wiki project doesn’t take off, then I’ll be finishing the book on my own and looking for a publisher. In the meantime, I invite your comments on the sections published here.

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to Quakers & Capitalism – the 1650s

  • Benjamin Pressley says:

    This is a fascinating project- I look forward to following along. I actually wrote a paper on a similar theme at Earlham School of Religion. Have you read Frederick Tolles’ book Meeting House and Counting House?

    • Hello, Benjamin

      Things are going slowly because of the ramp up to the holidays, but there’s a lot more to come. Would you be willing to share your essay from Earlham? I would like to see it, if you’re willing.

      Yes, I have read Meeting House and Counting House. Great book. I feel that my own research is a bit thin when it comes to the history of North American Friends. Much less has been written about us, it seems. So I’m always looking for new resources.

      I also find it easy to get distracted by the British history because it is so rich and has much greater significance for the rest of the world and for economics, as a discipline, at least until you get into the 20th century. Then, on this side of the pond, you have Herbert Hoover and Kenneth Boulding, AJ Muste, Right Sharing of World Resources and AFSC, FCNL.

      So welcome and thanks for tuning in!

      Steven

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Quakers & Capitalism – the 1650s at Through the Flaming Sword.

meta